The moment you find yourself with a suspended license, a whole lot of problems might be going through your head. Whatever reason might have led to the loss of your license, there are some clear steps to follow for each case, and we're here to provide information and help for these unfortunate circumstances.
When your license is suspended for traffic violations, you’re often dealing with complex cases. You will have trouble renewing your auto tags, and may even risk arrest if you don't get it fixed. Here’s what you can do:
Too Many Traffic Violation Points:
There's a detailed history kept by the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles and Highway Safety for all resident drivers. Among that data, there’s a set number of accumulated points recorded for traffic law violations. Each type of infraction has a designated point value, and accumulated points for a driver can lead to a license suspension depending on how many points the driver accumulated each time. This system's suspension parameters are the following:
- If 12 points are accumulated within 12 months, the driver's license is suspended for 30 days.
- If 18 points are accumulated within 18 months, the driver's license is suspended for 3 months.
- If 24 points are accumulated within 36 months, the driver's license is suspended for one year.
These suspensions can also last for more than one year and whatever other offenses are added during the suspension period. For example, in tragic cases that result in death or severe injury, the suspension is applied immediately.
To check on your current status, you can always go online and request a copy of your driving record at the department's website. This record includes your license status, violation convictions that include DUIs, restrictions, endorsements and any other reportable actions that come associated with your license.
You can always attend a state-approved traffic school to keep points off your record, which can also help with your insurance status, preventing an increase in your car insurance rates after traffic violations. Defensive driving classes that are certified by the state can also lead to the removal of points accumulated by certain offenses.
Driving Under the Influence:
Whatever the conditions that led to you drinking under the influence, there are strict penalties for doing so. The state of Florida can go so far as to outright revoke your license if the offense is grave enough. So, we'll start with the obvious recommendation: Whatever the situation, don't drink and drive, find a cab or a designated driver and you'll save yourself and other a lot of danger and trouble.
If you're older than 21 and find yourself facing a DUI conviction, there are four types of suspension periods and reinstatement requirements:
- For a first conviction, your license will be revoked for a period of 180 days and one year. You may have to attend a DUI course and undergo a rehabilitation treatment. Afterwards, you will be able to undergo a driver's license restoration process.
- For a second conviction, your license will also be revoked for a period of 180 days and one year. This time the DUI course and rehabilitation treatment will be required. If you don't complete the course within 90 90 your license will be revoked. Also, if this is a second offense committed within five years of the first one, you would face a five-year license suspension.
- For a third conviction, you will only face the same revoking period if it's not within 10 years of the previous one. If it is within this 10-year period, your license would be suspended for the next 10 years, DUI course included by state mandate.
- For a fourth or further conviction, you will have your license automatically revoked. Also, you won't be able to apply for a hardship license for five years after this conviction.
If you're under 21 years old, the Zero Tolerance Law applies for the state of Florida. Under this law, drivers under 21 years of age that are found driving with a blood-alcohol level of .02 percent or more face an automatic suspension for six months, with a second offense resulting in the suspension of driving privileges for a year.
Those who have commercial driving licenses and are convicted of driving under the influence will have such license revoke in Florida for a full year without being able to apply for a hardship license.
Let’s take a moment to explain what a Hardship Driver's License is:
When your driver's license is suspended, in certain cases you may be eligible for a hardship license during the suspension period. This is a restricted license that allows you to drive for business or educational purposes only. This applies, for example, for first-time DUI offenders or those without serious driving offenses. In some of these cases, taking a certified driving course may be required to obtain it.
DUI suspensions may be appealed to a court of law. For that, you would have to submit the appeal to the county court where you were suspended or wherever you reside.
Now, there are other cases in which driving licenses and car registrations might be revoked, which are the following.
There are many different procedures for your license suspension, and the solution can vary on a case-by-case basis. If you’re trying to renew your registration, but having trouble due to a license suspension, you may still have options. Be sure to contact Auto Tags of Florida at (954)848-4808, and we'll guide you through the necessary steps for you to get back safely on the road.