Marine Vessel Registration in Juno Beach, Florida is necessary part of ownership that every boat enthusiast must follow to use the state’s public waters. According to Chapter 328 of the Florida Statutes, all motorized boats in Florida must be titled and registered under the FLHSMV’s purview. The registration process is carried out by county tax collectors or license plate agents, and the boat owner can choose to register their vessel for one or two years.
Similar to a new on-road motor vehicle, a new or used boat buyer has 30 days from the date of purchase to apply for a boat title and register the vessel. During this period, the owner must keep a copy of the receipt on board the ship. After 30 days, it is considered a second-degree misdemeanor to operate a vessel without proper registration.
It is important to note that if your boat has a motor or is longer than 16 feet, you must get it registered before taking it out on any of Florida’s public waterways. However, there are some categories of watercraft that are exempt from registration requirements, including privately owned watercraft that never leave the owner’s property, government-owned ships in the United States, lifeboats that are specialized boats used solely for rescue missions, and craft with no motors shorter than 16 feet in length. Long or short, a canoe, kayak, racing shell, or scull is a boat that doesn’t need an engine.
If you are registering a boat from another state in Florida, you do not need to comply with registration requirements for that state. You can use and drive it throughout Florida for up to 90 days without registering it if you already have valid registration from another state or territory.
It is also important to comply with the Florida boat trailer registration regulations if your boat trailer weighs more than 2,000 pounds.
To register your boat in Florida, you must bring the appropriate titling fee and the following documents into a tax collector or license plate agent office:
- Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO) or its equivalent statement of builder for new vessels, or if the vessel is purchased in a state that does not require an MCO, the proof of ownership is an executed dealer’s bill of sale.
- Florida title accurately completed for transfer to purchaser for used vessels currently titled in FL.
- Out-of-state title accurately completed for transfer to purchaser for used vessels currently titled out of state.
- Current registration from that state and a bill of sale from the current registrant for used vessels from a state that does not require title.
- The proof of ownership must include a complete description of the vessel, including manufacturer’s name, year, type, hull material, propulsion, fuel, use of vessel, hull identification number, and length.
Registering your boat is a necessary process that every boat owner must follow to use Florida’s public waterways. If your boat has a motor or is longer than 16 feet, you must get it registered before taking it out on any of Florida’s public waterways. Auto Tags of Florida can take care of all your registration needs in Florida, so you can enjoy your boating experience without any hassle!